your browsing experience.
Home > Hotel Information
Need 4 rooms or more? Please contact us
BEST WESTERN The Three Swans Hotel is a former coaching inn. It has been offering a warm welcome to travellers and diners for over 500 years. It is as comfortable, welcoming and elegant today as it was in its coaching era, when visited by King Charles 1 the day before the famous battle of Naseby in 1645. In 1688, Queen Anne, whilst still Princess of Denmark, stayed in Market Harborough, with the hotel providing lodgings for her considerable entourage, including the Earl of Dorset and the Bishop of London.
The earliest reference found for the hotel, which also makes it clear just how old was its association as an inn, was the will of Richard Cade, 27th November 1517. Published records show that the hotel was the pick up point and stop over for the prestigious thrice weekly London coach run and postal service as early as 1765.
The elaborate gallows sign which overhangs the High Street is considered to be one of the finest in England. Certainly the wrought iron work is a splendid example of craftsmanship which dates back to the 18th century. The Inn dates from 1517 when it was known as 'Ye Sygne of Swanne'. The second and third Swans were added later, when it became known as Swannes, which it remained for over 200 years.
< Previous Next >